My Keyboard Layout

neat-ergodox-logo.png

See and Download my Current Layout Here

Back at the start of the year, I picked up an Ergodox EZ keyboard; in an effort to save my wrists from the terrors of RSI. The keyboard, is actually quite alien compared to most standard keyboards, with something of a split QWERTY layout, it still bugs a lot of people when they see the keyboard.

image.jpg

Needless to say, it’s taken me quite some time, in fact, I still am adapting to using this keyboard. It doesn’t help even more that I’m using a regular shaped keyboard at work everyday, either.

I still make a lot of typo errors, and I’ll stumble every now and then based on games asking me to press certain non-alphanumeric keys (Ctrl, Shift, etc.) and I sorely miss the arrow keys being in that familiar up/down/left/right shape on a regular keyboard. Instead, it’s an almost Vi-esque left/right/up/down setup. Still, I’ve persisted, and my typing speed almost matches the original keyboard layout speeds I had.

Where I really started to fall in love with the ErgoDox EZ though, is the eventually gentle tweaking I’ve been doing over time to the default key layout that the keyboard shipped with. It’s really become my own keyboard, and it’s been a journey that I’ve found myself looking at other lovely keyboards and told myself “No, I’m going to tough it out with the ErgoDox, because it’s unique, it’s mine.”

Without further ado though, here’s the layout - it’s split over two layers, with a toggle button in the bottom right to switch between layers. I can add a couple more layers on top (0 - 3 layers), but I’m trying to keep it to a minimum.

LAYER 0

layer01.JPG

LAYER 1

layer02.JPG

And as per the link at the top of this post, you can see and download my Layout Here. It’s dubbed version 3.4 – if you search the layouts on the configuration site for “jaytwitch” it’ll interestingly bring up a few of my historical layouts too :)

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Designing deployment methods for a growing startup tech team

eLeague.gg is rapidly growing behind the scenes, and this is especially true in regards to the tech development team behind the scenes. Our current development team consists entirely of one person (yours truly) and my duties involve:... Continue →